bildstreifen

Jiading: Research Area of the First Phase of the METRASYS Project

In the Jiading District, Shanghai, the METRASYS project aimed at developing and implementing a sustainable mobility strategy for mega cities.

.

Figure 1: Research Area - Jiading District (in green color)

Figure 2: Aerial image of Jiading Districtbbildung

Jiading District is one of 18 Districts in Shanghai and is located in the northwestern part of Shanghai. It stretches across 463,9 square kilometers and is home to a population of about one million inhabitants (in the year 2005). Half of the population is living in urbanized areas. In 2010, the population will have grown to estimated figures of 1.2 million inhabitants, with one million living in urbanized areas. The total population of Shanghai metropolitan area is about 18 million inhabitants.

Until the 1950s, Jiading was a small town in Shanghai’s rural periphery. However, Jiading evolved from a rural town to a satellite town until the 1980s. Afterwards, Jiading concentrated incessantly urban functions within the Shanghai metropolitan area and increased its population size. Being one of 18 districts of Shanghai, Jiading District today is an integral part within the metropolitan region. The metropolitan region itself is characterized by:

  • A very dynamic economic development and strong population growth
  • A high urbanization rate of about 90% in the near future, compared to 45% in 2005
  • Extensive planning efforts, including large-scale industrial areas and infrastructure projects
  • High traffic volumes and increasing mobility demands, in particular individual motor car traffic
  • Increased energy consumption as well as rising environmental problems.

One result of the 2003 “Shanghai Suburban Area Working Meeting" was the agreement that Shanghai’s suburban area should be the winner of international relocation of industrial production to Shanghai metropolitan area. Thus, different internationally competitive production sites have been developed. Simultaneously, some medium-sized industry towns with a population size of 500,000 to 800,000 residents are to be built. According to the decisions taken in the “Shanghai Suburban Area Working Meeting” as well as to the decisions of local committee leaders within the initiative "Re-arranging Mountains and Rivers", Jiading District Committee and the local government of Jiading District proactively developed a strategic plan for the district. Furthermore, the decisions of Shanghai’s local government have been important for the development of Jiading District, as the government decided to relocate four core industries in Shanghai's suburban area:

  • High-Class Steel Production Base (in the north)
  • Micro-Electronic Industrial Base (in the east)
  • Shanghai Chemical Industry Park (in the south)
  • Shanghai International Automobile City (in the West).

Shanghai International Automobile City is to be developed in Jiading District. Accordingly, the idea of the four core industries has been implemented within the strategic plan for Jiading District as well as within the planning for the four development areas in Jiading District (see figure 3):

Central Development Area Jiading New City (168 square kilometers)

In this area, the center of the District as well as the regional core city in the Yangtze Delta city ring will be developed. It will be the political, administrative, economic and cultural center of the district. It provides daily life services and an auto-racing culture as major functions. In the future, it will be a modern, medium-sized city on a high technological standard.

Western Development Area - Shanghai International Automobile City (SIAC) (105 square kilometers)

This area is defined as the heart of the automobile industry and trading centers for the Asia-Pacific regional and whole China. It provides automobile manufacturing, component suppliers, automobile trading, exposition as well as research and development as its main functions. The unique modern Anting new town, planned by Albert Speer & Partners, will be another highlight in this area.

Northern Development Area – Advanced Manufacturing Base (110 square kilometers)

This area serves for the location of manufacturing and production sites, which are part of the division of labor within the Yangtze River Economic Belt and Shanghai metropolitan area.

Southern Development Area – Tertiary Industry Zone (80 square kilometers)

Closely located to Shanghai’s central districts, this area exemplifies the policy of 'Withdrawing from the secondary while forging ahead with the tertiary'. It provides daily life services, logistics, and specialized markets as its main functions. Furthermore, several ecological residential areas are planned.

Figure 3: Land use plan (2004-2020), according to the Strategic Development Plan" for Jiading District

In the future, express lines, inner city and regional express railways as well as high-speed railways between Jiading District, Shanghai’s core area and southern parts of Jiangsu Province are planned. The inner-city line R3 is to be connected with the planned Su Xi Chang line, thus creating a regional connection. Parts of the planned Jiangnan railway could be used as regional transport line. Furthermore, the existing transport network between Chengqiao, Jiading New City and Anting could be expanded. In the end, the transport network would connect four core cities within the region (see figure 4).

In conclusion, the plans aim at modernizing Jiading District, integrating it functionally within Shanghai metropolitan region and developing the automobile industry as one core industry within the region.

Figure 4: Plan of road network (2004-2020), Jiading District

bildstreifen

Jiading und Hefei

Zielregion der 1. Projektphase - der Bezirk Jiading in Shanghai

Im Jiading District, im Nordwesten Shanghais, nahm sich das METRASYS Projekt der Herausforderung, exemplarisch eine Strategie für nachhaltige Mobilität in Megastädten zu entwickeln und umzusetzen.

Abbildung 1: Übersicht über die Untersuchungsregion - Jiading District (in grüner Farbe dargestellt)

Abbildung 2: Luftbild aus dem Jiading District

Der Jiading District, einer von insgesamt 18 Distrikten Shanghais, liegt im Nordwesten Shanghais und erstreckt sich über eine Gesamtfläche von 463,9 km2. Etwa eine Million Einwohner lebten zum Untersuchungszeitpunkt (2005) in dem Jiading District, davon etwa 510.000 Einwohner in urbanen Gebieten. Der Distrikts gliedert sich weiterhin in acht Städte ("towns", chinesisch Chinese 鎮 bzw. vereinfacht 镇 (zhèn)), drei Stadtviertel ("neighbourhoods") und zwei Verwaltungskomitees ("managing committees") auf. Die Bevölkerung wird im Jahr 2010 auf etwa 1,2 Millionen Einwohner angewachsen sein, davon etwa 1 Million Stadtbewohner. Insgesamt beläuft sich die Gesamtbevölkerung von Shanghais metropolitaner Region auf etwa 18 Millionen Einwohner.

Jiading war bis in die 1950er Jahre eine Stadt in der ländlichen Peripherie Shanghais. Aber schon bis in die 1980er Jahre hinein hat es sich zu einer Satellitenstadt Shanghais entwickelt. In der Folge nahm es immer mehr Funktionen der metropolitanen Region Shanghais auf und wuchs an Bevölkerung. Heute ist der Jiading District Distrikt als einer der 18 Districts Distrikte Shanghais integraler Bestandteil der Region. Diese metropolitane Region ist gekennzeichnet durch:

  • sehr dynamische wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und starke Bevölkerungszunahme,
  • eine hohe Urbanisierungsrate von etwa 90% in naher Zukunft gegenüber einer Rate von 45% im Jahr 2005,
  • extensive Planungsmaßnahmen, einschließlich großflächiger Industrieareale und Infrastrukturprojekte
  • ein hohes Verkehrsaufkommen und steigende Mobilitätsnachfrage, insbesondere in Form motorisierten Individualverkehrs und
  • steigender Energieverbrauch sowie zunehmende Umweltprobleme.

Ergebnis des 2003 durchgeführten "Shanghai Suburban Area Working Meeting" war, dass Shanghais suburbaner Raum von der Verlagerung industrieller Produktion auf internationaler Ebene profitieren sollte. Dazu sollten verschiedene Produktionsstandorte mit hoher Wettbewerbsfähigkeit aufgebaut werden und gleichzeitig einige mittelgroße Industriestädte mit einer Einwohnergröße Bevölkerung von 500.000 bis 800.000 Einwohner entstehen. Gemäß den Beschlüssen des Treffens und den Beschlüssen der kommunalen Komiteeführer zur Umgestaltung der Berge und Flüsse ("Re-arranging Mountains and Rivers") haben das Jiading District Committee und die Regierung des Jiading District proaktiv an einem strategischem Entwicklungsplan für den Distrikt gearbeitet. Für die Entwicklung des Jiading District war auch die Entscheidung von Shanghais Kommunalregierung wichtig, im suburbanen Raum vier Schlüsselindustrien anzusiedeln:

  • High-Class Steel Production Base (im Norden)
  • Micro-Electronic Industrial Base (im Osten)
  • Shanghai Chemical Industry Park (im Süden)
  • Shanghai International Automobile City (im Westen).

Letztere befindet sich im Jiading DistrictDistrikt. Die Idee der vier Schüsselindustrien ging daher in den strategischen Entwicklungsplan für den Jiading District Distrikt sowie die daraus abgeleiteten vier Entwicklungsgebieten des Jiading District Distrikts ein (siehe Abbildung 3):

Zentrales Entwicklungsgebiet Jiading New City (168 km2)

In diesem Gebiet soll das Zentrum entstehen, welches sich als regionales Zentrum im Yangtze Delta Städtering etablieren soll. Es ist gleichzeitig politisches, ökonomisches und kulturelles Zentrum des Distrikts. Neben den Gütern und Dienstleistungen des täglichen Bedarfs wurde dort ein Hochgeschwindigkreits-Rennstrecke als zentrales Element angesiedelt.it provides an auto-racing culture as major function. Dieses Gebiet soll sich zu einer modernen, mittelgroßen Stadt auf hohem technologischem Niveau entwickeln. (NICHT ALLES ÜBERSETZT!!)

Westliches Entwicklungsgebiet - Shanghai Internationale Automobilstadt (SIAC) (105 km2)

In diesem Gebiet werden die Automobilindustrie sowie die Handelszentren für den Asien-Pazifik-Raum und für den chinesischen Markt angesiedelt. Neben den Produktionsstätten für die Automobilindustrie und ihre Zulieferer sollen Distributionszentren, Ausstellungsflächen sowie Flächen für Forschung und Entwicklung entstehen. Als besondere Attraktion wurde hier die Anting new town geplant durch das des Architekturbüro Albert Speer & Partner angesiedelt (auch German Town genannt). and it will be built into a highland of national automobile industry and a unique modern Anting new town.

Nördliches Entwicklungsgebiet - Fortschrittliche Produktionsstätten (110 km2)

In diesem Gebiet dient der Ansiedlung von weiteren Produktionsstätten, die in Arbeits- und Funktionsteilung mit dem Yangtze River Economic Belt und innerhalb der Shanghai Region stehen.

Südliches Entwicklungsgebiet - Tertiäre Gewerbezone (80 Km2)

Am nächsten zu den zentralen Stadtbezirken Shanghais gelegen soll dieses Gebiet für den Aufbruch von der industriellen Produktion zum Dienstleistungsgewerbe stehen. Neben den Gütern und Dienstleistungen des täglichen Bedarfs werden hier Logistik und spezialisierte Märkte angesiedeIt. Auch Wohnfunktionen sind in diesem Gebiet vorgesehen.

Abbildung 3: Flächennutzungsplan (2004-2020), gemäß dem "Strategic Development Plan" für den Jiading Distrikct

Geplant sind künftig Expressverbindungen einschließlich innerstädtischer und regionaler Schnellzugverbindungen sowie Hochgeschwindigkeitszugverbindungen zwischen Jiading und den Kernbereichen Shanghais, den südlichen Teil der Jiangsu Provinz. Shanghais städtische R3-Linie soll mit der geplanten Su-Xi-Chang Linie verbunden werden, so dass eine regionale Verbindung geschaffen wird. Ein Teil der geplanten Jiangnan Zugverbindung könnte als regionale Transportlinie genutzt werden. Künftig dürften die Streckennetze zwischen Chengqiao, Jiading New City und Anting ausgebaut werden und sich somit ein Streckennetz zwischen den vier Kernstädten der Region herausbilden (siehe Abbildung 4).

Somit dienen die oben genannten Pläne dem Ziel, Jiading einer Modernisierung zu unterziehen, den District Distrikt funktional in die Region einzubinden sowie mit der Automobilindustrie eine Schlüsselindustrie aufzubauen.

Abbildung 4: Plan für das Straßennetz (2004-2020) des Jiading DistrictDistrikt